2017 Prize Winners

We are proud to announce the winners and honorable mentions of our 2017 contests! Their work will appear in the Spring 2018 issue.

Gearhart Poetry Prize


Jed Myers, “The Truth Takes Lunch”

Honorable Mention:

Christopher Childers, “Three Nails”






World’s Best Short-Short Story


“Friends” by Greta Schuler

Honorable Mentions:

“Why We Stole the Disco Ball from Satellite Skate” by Erica Plouffe Lazure

“Shpykiv” by Alexandra Brenner

“The Dead Mall” by Michael Martone

“Saint Barabara’s Day” by Elina Alter

The Southeast Review’s Narrative Nonfiction Prize


Erica Berry, “Crywolf”

Honorable Mentions:

Sylvia Sukop, “Soundings: Field Notes on Communication with Animals and God”

Lee Huttner, “The Stone Grows Without Rain”